Gor Mahia declared KPL champions by Nick Mwendwa

Gor Mahia declared KPL champions by Nick Mwendwa

Football Kenya Federation (FKF) President Nick Mwendwa has confirmed Gor Mahia FC as the 2019/20 Kenyan Premier League champions.

Kenya Premier League LTD suspended the league indefinitely to conform to Kenyan government directives to fight the spread of coronavirus and with the extension of the tight regulations such as the ban on use of all public sporting facilities, night curfew, and inter-county travel, it was clear the season would not end on May 8 as initially planned.

The top-tier took a break about one month ago due to the Covid-19 pandemic with no definite return date. By that time, K’Ogalo Sirkal were leading the table with 54 points after playing 23 matches. FKF argues that according to the rules governing Kenyan football, 68 percent of matches have been played and therefore K’Ogalo are the champions.

“Congratulations Gor Mahia! You are champions once again and you will represent Kenya on the champions league Next season. Lets do this !” Mwendwa tweeted.

The FKF President also announced the promotion of Nairobi Stars to Kenya Premier League as they were declared National Super League champion.

Mwendwa further confirmed that they will subsequently forward Gor Mahia to Confederation of African Football (CAF) as the winners of the Kenyan Premier League and will represent Kenya at CAF champions league matches next season.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here