All courts in Nairobi, Machakos, Kajiado, Kiambu and Nakuru Counties to remain closed

Chief Justice Philemona Mwilu

All Courts, Tribunals and all Registries in the five counties of Nairobi, Machakos, Kajiado, Kiambu and Nakuru shall be closed to the public until further notice as part of measures to contain the spread of COVID-19 in the country announced by president Uhuru Kenyatta.

In a notice to all Judicial officers, Acting Chief Justice Philomena Mwilu said any matters requiring a hearing during the closure period shall be by way of virtual hearing.

“In Nairobi county, matters under certificate of urgency shall continue to be filed using the e-filing system accessible at E-filing support shall be offered through an online platform running every weekday from 10.00am to 12.00pm and 2.00pm to 4.00pm,” reads the notice.

“Certificates of urgency in the other zoned areas of Kiambu, Kajiado, Machakos and Nakuru, shall be presented by way of e-filing.”

All criminal pleas and urgent hearings shall be handled virtually in all courts in the five zoned counties.

The Chief Justice further encouraged the Judiciary officers to get the COVID-19 vaccine at the earliest possible moment.

Related posts


2 Egerton University Students Perish In An Accident Along Nakuru-Kericho Highway


UK BANS passengers from Kenya to control spread of Covid-19


This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More

Privacy & Cookies Policy